Page 1 of 1

Man Booker Prize Winners

PostPosted: July 24th, 2011, 9:48 pm
by admin
For lovers of literary fiction looking for their next read, check out the Man Booker Prize. It promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. With the first award given in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is one of the most prominent literary awards an author can receive.

2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question

2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall

2008 Aravind Adiga White Tiger

2007 Anne Enright The Gathering

2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss

2005 John Banville The Sea

2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty

2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little

2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi

2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang

2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin

1999 J M Coetzee Disgrace

1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam

1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things

1996 Graham Swift Last Orders

1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road

1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late

1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha

1992 Joint Winners
Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger

1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road

1990 A S Byatt Possession

1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day

1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda

1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger

1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils

1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People

1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac

1983 J M Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K

1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler’s Ark

1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children

1980 William Golding Rites of Passage

1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore

1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea

1977 Paul Scott Staying On

1976 David Storey Saville

1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust

1974 Joint Winners
Nadine Gordimer & Stanley Middleton
The Conservationist & Holiday

1973 J G Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur

1972 John Berger G

1971 V S Naipaul In a Free State

1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member

1969 P H Newby Something to Answer For